Elderly and Disabled Tax Deferral Program (RSA 72:38-a)
Any residential property owner may apply for a tax deferral if the person:
- Is either at least 65 years old or eligible under Title II or Title XVI of the federal Social Security Act for benefits of the disabled; and
- Has owned the homestead for at least 5 years; and
- Is living in the home
- Tax deferral may be granted for all or part of the taxes due. Annual interest of 5% accrues.
- Total tax deferrals shall not be more than 85% of assessed value of a property.
- Tax deferral may be granted if in the opinion of the assessing officials the tax liability causes the taxpayer an undue hardship or possible loss of property.
Worksheet (PDF) and Application Form PA-30 (PDF)
Low & Moderate Income Homeowners Property Tax Relief
The state of New Hampshire has enacted a law enabling property owners to receive relief of the state education portion of their tax bill. Property owners who resided in their home as of April 1st and had a total household incomes of $20,000 or less if single and $40,000 or less if married or head of a New Hampshire household are eligible. The forms must be completed and mailed to the Department of Revenue by June 30th.
Property Owners will need to attach a copy of their final property tax bill that was issued in December. Additionally, owners will need to attach a copy of their federal tax return and one for each adult living in the claimant's household. If the homestead is held in a trust, please attach a statement so stating.
Form DP-8 can be found on www.revenue.nh.gov when they become available each year or print DP-8 2018
Prorated Assessment for Damaged Buildings - Rsa 76:21
RSA 76:21 provides that a prorated assessment shall be granted for taxable building(s) damaged by unintended fire or natural disaster and therefore unable to be used for its intended use. For the purpose of paragraph I, an "unintended fire" means a fire which does not arise out of an act committed by or at the direction of the property owner with the intent to cause a loss.
A person aggrieved by a property tax for a damaged building as provided in RSA 76:21, paragraph 1, shall file an application with the assessing officials in writing within 60 days of the event.
Please see the Prorated Assessment Form (PDF) for more details and instruction.